That was Then, This is Now: Zen Moments #1

That was then, this is now: It is very simple, yet a very profound statement (like all things Zen, this is the beauty of Zen). Rejoice in the way things are today without missing the good old times. Often people have a hangover of the past, they paint quite a rosy picture of the life they had (even though they might have cribbed n complained about that very life when it was happening). But we should realize that everything has it’s time n place. There’s a time for birth, a time to grow & time to die. Everything happens in its own perfect timing. A few years back I had a full-fledged career, a busy routine, good income & lots of money at my disposal. Now I am a home-maker & though those things are no longer there, their absence has created room for new type of experiences: more simple, more serene. Now money might be less but time to reflect on my thoughts n mysteries of life is more. Right now I’m enjoying this placid life. I can’t dream of having it otherwise. Though I’ve to do some mundane chores like cooking n cleaning, something that couldn’t have been even thinkable when I was a studious student & a busy professional. Often people ask me which is better, the professional life or the life of a home-maker & don’t I miss that so-called high life??I always say ‘That was then & this is now’

January 23, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , . Buddhism, Happiness, My lifestyle, My Values, Quitting the Rat Race, Reflections/Musings, Wisdom.

5 Comments

  1. CM replied:

    or as they say, “that was Zen, this is Tao”!

    • ritusthoughtcatcher replied:

      Yeah Craig that’s the original, I tweaked a bit to suit the situation ;-), welcome to the blog…enjoy the zen Moments 🙂

  2. Zen & the Art of Enjoying Everyday Life : Zen Moments #2 « Ritu’s Weblog replied:

    […] That was Then, This is Now: Zen Moments #1 (ritusthoughtcatcher.wordpress.com) […]

  3. Zen & The Joy of Cooking: Zen Moments #5 « Ritu’s Weblog replied:

    […] That was Then, This is Now: Zen Moments #1 (ritusthoughtcatcher.wordpress.com) […]

  4. The Great Fool of Zen Rokyan: Zen Moments #7 « Ritu’s Weblog replied:

    […] That was Then, This is Now: Zen Moments #1 (ritusthoughtcatcher.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

