Things I am Grateful For

“Be thankful for what you have; you’ll end up having more. If you concentrate on what you don’t have, you will never, ever have enough.”~Oprah Winfrey

He is a wise man who does not grieve for the things which he has not, but rejoices for those which he has.  ~Epictetus

We often take for granted the very things that most deserve our gratitude.  ~Cynthia Ozick

Most human beings have an almost infinite capacity for taking things for granted.  ~Aldous Huxley

  1. My Upbringing- which was solidly rooted in values, though my parents had enough money but we were never spoilt. We had to work to get the things we wanted apart from the basics. That might not have seemed so great at that time but I realize the value of such training in my growing years. It is coming handy throughout my life.

  2. My parents: They gave me absolute freedom to do whatever I wished to do without ever pressurizing me to pursue a certain career.

  3. A supportive hubby who shares chores with me.

  4. Hubby & me sharing common basic values.

  5. Hubby’s secure Job.

  6. Not having to worry about Medical emergencies. Hubby’s job takes care of it.

  7. Hubby bringing me Bed Tea every morning.

  8. A Spouse who truly appreciates & values me.

  9. Hubby being a great cook.

  10. Finding so much happiness & peace in married life after a bad marriage.

  11. Our friend chakri who introduced us. I call him our cupid.

  12. My successful career stint. Making a living doing what I love.

  13. My students: I learnt as much from them as I taught them. I had a wonderful, enriching experience interacting with young minds.

  14. My kick ass attitude which makes the best of all situations eventually.

  15. Friends with whom I can share my innermost thoughts & deepest secrets. With whom I shared fun moments & all my woes. Who always had faith in me & time for me, even when I was at my Worst.

  16. My wonderful online friends, some of whom I’ve not even met but the bond is still precious n valuable as ‘real’ friendship.

  17. Traveling to so many places.

  18. Digital camera: I just love photography & it’s a breeze with digi cams.

  19. Clarity: I am grateful for having worked out my core values & understanding what makes me truly happy.

  20. Understanding myself: I have really worked out what I want in life & have the ability & strength to go after them. I’ve rarely if ever succumbed to social/peer pressure.

  21. Self love: I am my Best friend n biggest cheer leader & admirer.

  22. My footloose & carefree lifestyle. Not being stuck with kids.

  23. Internet: I just dunno how we ever managed before the advent of the net.

  24. My Laptop.

  25. My Blog: It helps me to air my opinions whenever it strikes my fancy.

  26. Blogs out there: I can spend hours & hours exploring various interesting topics & point of view.

  27. Internet Forums: I learnt a lot on various topics from these forums. I explored various themes that were important to me at various times like being child free, introversion, body acceptance, voluntary simplicity, Feminism et al. These forums help me connect with likeminded souls.

  28. Osho: He’s the Kick ass Guru who helped me clarify my thoughts n figure out my values.

  29. My schooling: Our Principal was a great lady who had a different vision for education. She made us really bold & smart.

  30. Great Teachers like Buddha, Thich Nhat Hanh, Deepak chopra, Eckhart Tolle, Louise Hay, Lin Yutang, Tom Hodgkinson, Vernon Howard, Guy Finley, Byron Katie, Wayne dyer, Marci Schimoff & Many many more who have helped my journey towards peace & calm.

  31. Never having the need to keep up with Joneses. I’ve always been happy with leading my life the way I want without comparing myself with others. Gives me lots of peace of mind.

  32. Simplicity: I’ve embraced voluntary simplicity which leads to saving money & enables us to lead a clutter free life which adds to our peace of my mind.

  33. Not being addicted to anything.

  34. My love for solitude: Not always needing people around me to feel secure/entertained enables me to be happy anywhere anytime.

  35. Having loads of time for myself: To read, think, reflect & clarify my values.

  36. My tough times: Though it may be clichéd to say this but it is amply true that those bad time really taught me, made me strong & appreciate all the good stuff.

  37. Friends who stood by me during my tough times, who let me express my woes infinite times, who never lost faith in me & who helped me stand up again after going through some big tragedies in life.

  38. Gaining self esteem after difficult teenage years which really sucked for me.

  39. People who are kind enough to appreciate my blogs & pictures @ FB.

  40. Haruki Murakami, Milan Kundera, Alain De Botton & all the wonderful writers of fiction.

  41. Books: I can spend any amount of time absorbed in the wonderful world of books. As long as there are books I am sure I will never be bored.

  42. My good Height: which not only adds to my personality but also lets me gain weight without it showing too much.

  43. My skin: which has recovered quite well after teenage acne & sunburns.

  44. My fabulous Dressing & fashion/style sense.

  45. Having the flexibility to adjust & go with the flow. Somehow I never get addicted to luxuries & find it easy to cut back. I like both splurging & saving as & when the circumstances in life demand.

  46. My wonderful family & esp my nieces who are the apple of my eyes. Esp Risha with whom I shared two wonderful years of my life.

  47. The freedom to go on holidays every year.

  48. Moving every two years: Though it may have it’s downsides but I just love the complete change in lifestyle. Each place has it’s own charm/flavor. Life is never dull/boring/predictable.

  49. Movies like  Groundhog Day which have entertained me & make me think.

  50. Wonderful Domestic Help: can’t ever thank enough to people who smooth my life.

  51. Our own Home: Takes off another worry from my head about the future.

  52. My sense of Humor.

Related articles
September 5, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Happiness, Hmm..., I-Me-Myself, Lists, Meaning of Life, MEMEME, My lifestyle, My Values, Personal, Reflections/Musings, Simplicity, Wisdom.

6 Comments

  1. meenal jhala replied:

    Hi Ritu

    It is truly important to be grateful for everything in life. Just like you said gratitude for loving parents, good upbringing and a great spouse. For all of nature’s beautiful gifts too.

    It was a pleasure reading your article. Do check out my blog http://www.meenal-jhala.blogspot.com when you have some time.

  2. ritusthoughtcatcher replied:

    Hi Meenal, as they say Gratitude is a wonderful Attitude..I am trying to count my blessings to overcome my disappointment at some not so optimal circumstances in my life right now…instead of focusing on what’s not working I thought it would be a great Idea to focus on the rocking parts of life…glad that you liked it & thanks for your kind words…hope to see you here more. 🙂

  3. Finding Happiness the Epictetus Way : #1 « Ritu’s Weblog replied:

    […] Things I am Grateful For (ritusthoughtcatcher.wordpress.com) […]

  4. Finding Happiness the Epictetus Way: #3 « Ritu’s Weblog replied:

    […] Things I am Grateful For (ritusthoughtcatcher.wordpress.com) […]

  5. Finding Happiness the Epictetus Way #7: Learning from Every Event & Person & Everything else Too!!! « Ritu’s Weblog replied:

    […] Things I am Grateful For (ritusthoughtcatcher.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

