My Personal Swot Analysis

“SWOT” is an  acronym for Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities and Threats. SWOT analysis consists of the following two activities

1. An assessment of the organization’s internal Strengths and Weaknesses and

2. An assessment of the Opportunities and Threats posed by its external environment

SWOT analysis provides a framework for visioning by helping the planners to identify and prioritize the organization’s GOALS and to further identify the strategies of achieving them.

I am applying this tool to analyze & probe my psyche deeper. So instead of strengths n weaknesses of an organization they are my own strengths & weaknesses. I hope to use this Personal SWOT as a tool of self awareness & Personal Development. So here I GO:

Strengths:

~ Calm, cool & Content: Non Materialistic: Never Been a part of Rat Race or Keeping up with Joneses Mentality.

~Inner Locus of Control & love for solitude:Happy in my own company; Never Bored

~Enthusiastic, fun loving, good sense of humor

~High level of self awareness, self belief & self esteem

~ Good Communication skills (Expressing ideas coherently, Listening attentively & Writing concisely)

~ Good Leadership skills (Charisma & empathy)

~High I.Q. & E.Q.

~Tech & Internet savvy

~ Flexible: Able to adapt to changing situations naturally & without fuss or complains. After enjoying a career in College teaching for 10+ year had no problem or qualms in teaching children at primary levels (looking forward to teaching at pre nursery & nursery levels). Demonstrated equal levels of joy, ease & competence as a professional & Home-maker.

~ Self focused: No lust for stuff, power or fame. No celebrity worshipping. No voyeuristic curiosities to peep into lives of others (as in watching reality TV…though very much interested in getting into the minds of people whom I admire- Osho, Ayn Rand, Vernon Howard, Guy Finley, Louise Hay, Byron Katie, Lin Yutang, Epicurus, Socrates, Marcie Schimoff, Deepak Chopra, Buddha…the list goes on). This helps me to lead my life with contentment & peace of my mind, directing my energy for my own improvement.

~Love for learning (Been a continuous Learner all my life both formally as in acquiring qualifications & informally as in learning through reading, blogging etc. Currently pursuing CFA (Chartered Financial Analyst), M.T.T. (Montessori Teacher’s Training & Personal MBA: Personal MBA means acquiring knowledge & wisdom by reading books instead of attending formal classes.)

Weaknesses:

~Sometimes Judgemental/critical of others thus wasting my own time n energy outside my circle of Influence

~Sometimes Egoistic & need to be regarded & acknowledged ‘The Best’.

~Get distracted by too many things

~Disorganized & cluttered personal space

~Get caught into gossiping even though involuntarily & harmlessly & feel drained after it

~Addicted to too much sweet Tea

~Procrastination especially once hooked online

Opportunities:

~Loads of Free Time to pursue all my Interests & take walks/do cycling on warm afternoons on cold days

~ No responsibility for others-Parents & spouse self sufficient, no kids or dependent in laws; Free to do my own thing

Threats:

~I like to believe that I’ve reached a stage where I can’t let ANYTHING outside my own self responsible for my negative states. Nothing in the external environment is 100% negative. Every situation, however bad, has it’s lessons n gifts. It’s up to me to make use of any circumstance in a beneficial way.

February 9, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , , , , . I-Me-Myself, Inspiration, Meaning of Life, MEMEME, My lifestyle, My Values, Personal, Reflections/Musings, Wisdom.

31 Comments

  1. Zen & the Art of Being A Happy Home-Maker « Ritu’s Weblog replied:

    […] My Personal Swot Analysis […]

  2. Ritu’s Weblog replied:

    […] About Me | My Thoughts | FAQs | Still More | My Personal Swot Analysis […]

  3. jammy replied:

    most of it looks like mine but only urs is better mine is in a deform shape as of now but almost the same thinking pattern there

  4. ritusthoughtcatcher replied:

    Good to see someone like minded Jammy…Welcome to my blog & hope to see more of you 🙂

  5. Neeraj replied:

    after reading yours swot analysis i got a correct idea of personal swot analysis thanks…….

  6. Nimish replied:

    i never thought of life so seriously…..this made me think a lot about myself…thnx 🙂

    • ritusthoughtcatcher replied:

      Thanks for such wonderful words Nimish…I love thinking about myself for hours & I bet you’d love it too 🙂

  7. Gurpreet replied:

    really helped me loot to complete my one of the given task.appreciated by your positive thinking toward life.that makes the life best.

  8. Pradeep Hegde replied:

    Really this is a very good information, which is the basic learn for every one must know their SWOT analysis…. Thanks Ritu…

  9. sandeep replied:

    Thanx for introducing me of personal swot analysis..it wud definitely help me in my prsnl swot analysis.thanxxx 1ce again.

  10. Mavis replied:

    Thaks for this i was tols to write a SWOT anylysis and didn’t have a clue! you really helped me a ot thanks!

  11. Naveen replied:

    I have just started the one, And your views helped a lot.

    @ Ritu – If you have any work book , can you share please ?

    Thank you everyone for the views.

  12. Naren replied:

    Thank You, For Sharing UR SWOT
    U Have Great Strengths I Bet..I could not help but say I can identity my own SWOT of 2009 be almost similar to yours. and the threats 100% ( If I have conceived from your viewpoint)…The point to comment this blog is I seem to have resolved my threats ( what are I assume are yours too more or less) using techniques of Mindfulness-which I learned thru an extensive programme in Ceylon when I visited India.

    the Burmese way — chapter 5 or 6

    It is very much result oriented than any on Osho’s meditations and very quick
    Since SWOT’s are Time Frame bounded they have to be reviewed..
    Thank you
    Keep it up
    Naren Thapa,

    • ritusthoughtcatcher replied:

      Hey Thanks a lot Naren for such an enlightening comment…lemme check the link n come back here again…i just love mindfulness n all things Zen 🙂

  13. visit the next website page replied:

    Hello, for all time i used to check weblog posts here in the early hours
    in the break of day, for the reason that i enjoy to gain knowledge of more and more.

  14. ajaytao2010 replied:

    Nice reading about you

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Be in touch. Browse through the category sections, I feel you may find something of your interest.

  15. Stopwatch Countdown Online replied:

    Howdy would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re
    working with? I’m looking to start my own blog soon but
    I’m having a tough time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your design and style
    seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.

    P.S Sorry for being off-topic but I had to ask!

    • ritusthoughtcatcher replied:

      Hey Stopwatch!! Welcome to my blog n thanks for the kind words…I have experience only with wordpress, so can’t comment abt other choices…I use ‘fresh bananas’ free theme 🙂

  16. Annmarie replied:

    These are genuinely wonderful ideas in concerning blogging.
    You have touched some good things here. Any way keep up
    wrinting.

    • ritusthoughtcatcher replied:

      Hey Annmarie thanks for taking out time to give me a glowing feedback…much appreciated. 🙂

  17. Keon Knotts replied:

    I in addition to my guys appeared to be checking the
    excellent strategies on your site and then got a horrible feeling I never expressed respect to you for those tips.
    The ladies were as a consequence joyful to read through all of them and now have
    in reality been taking pleasure in them. I appreciate you for really being simply considerate and also for having this
    kind of superior topics millions of individuals are really desirous
    to discover. My honest apologies for not saying thanks to you earlier.

  18. Om Deswal replied:

    Its nice , I can go for writing my SWOT. Thanks.

    • ritusthoughtcatcher replied:

      Hey Om, I’m indeed gratified to note that this helped you…go for your swot…it’s super fun.

      • kamlesh replied:

        Hi ritu,
        It is indeed a gr8 swot analysis done by u. It really succour others to think and write their own. This is a continuous process to enhance ur skills and knowledge. Keep this as a routine activity.

  19. Shalin replied:

    What if you can draw this in a SWOT analysis and publish here using a swot analysis software ?

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

