My Thought on Things things that Make Me Think!!!

#1 Money: I value money for what it is, A Medium of Exchange & the stuff with which we buy things that make our life comfortable but I’ve seen many a lives ruined by money, not only as in having loads of money will increase the probability of theft/robbery/your kin being kidnapped etc, but also people ruining their lives worrying over money matters (even when none of those scary incidents happen actually) (not that it is money’s fault but then money seems to do this to most folks). I mean people having sufficient money losing sleep over some money lost in stock market for example is actually hilarious if we think about it.  (I wouldn’t worry about money matters till the time I’ve enough for food n shelter, rest of the stuff is negotiable i.e. I’ll indulge in them if I have money n let go if funds are lacking). Money beyond a certain level is more of a tension rather than joy. Then one has to spend substantial time n thoughts over preserving n increasing it & I personally consider it time wasted. I’d rather spend all that time doing something that enriches my soul like reading/ writing; enjoying the finer things rather than thinking over money matters. I believe in earning a decent amount n then using it all to buy things that please one. Saving for imaginary future emergencies doesn’t quite make sense in my scheme of things. & slogging too hard to make wads of money n then blowing it all to buy luxuries to show off to others is also foolish in my books. Moreover the happiness that some people claim to get from things that money can buy is fleeting & not so fulfilling, ‘cos real happiness comes from within n not generated by external things or circumstances.


Most people seem to have forgotten the fact that money is just a means to an end & started worshiping money for its own sake & rather than spending it find more pleasure in hoarding more n more of it.Several researches have conclusively proved that Lottery winners return to their previous level of happiness after five years. But this hasn’t stopped many from the pursuit of more n more money. As someone jokingly remarked “All I need is a chance to prove that money doesn’t buy happiness.”!!!

A Research carried at Princeton University reveals In looking toward the future, women who concentrated much of their thinking on financial matters were much less likely to be happy with their lives. And, contrary to expectations, many of those with such worries had plenty of money by conventional standards, she said, suggesting that there is more at play in obtaining peace of mind than simply having cash. Conversely, those who didn’t fixate on finances like retirement savings, tuition for college or simply making ends meet, reported being the happiest of the group. (somehow I knew all this instinctively & though I’m from Finance background & been teaching Finance for ages I just hate wasting my time on thinking about money…I’ve always spent what I’ve earned on books, music, Net, clothes, Travel, Gadgets & saved only an itsy bitsy amount…somehow worrying over future is not a part of my DNA…I have no aspirations for what I want to buy 5/10 years later…things will work out the way they are meant to.)

Some quotes that reflect my views on money are:

To be clever enough to get all that money, one must be stupid enough to want it. G.K. Chesterton

~Possessions Possess.

~A man is rich in proportion to the things he can afford to live without. Thoreau

~A good mind possesses a kingdom: a great fortune is a great slavery. ~seneca

~Money doesn’t always bring happiness. People with $10 million are no happier than people with $9 million

It’s Official Money Doesn’t Buy Happiness

#2 Ageing: In a world that is obsessed with youth, I seem to be an odd person out: I’m actually looking forward to grow old. (I not only read ‘Harmony’: a magazine for elderly but find it very interesting too!!) I like myself more now at 35 than I did at 16. I know myself more, I’m surer of my own thoughts n feelings…I just loooooooooooove being older n mature n smarter. I don’t understand the attitude of people feeling very proud ‘cos they are young; my sis in law often brags she’s 10 yrs younger than me as if that is some achievement or badge of honor n what’s with so many women who are supposed to lie about their ages to seem younger than they are, WTF?? Some quotes on ageing that reflect my attitude:

A person’s age is something impressive, it sums up his/her life:  maturity reached slowly and against many obstacles, illnesses cured, griefs and despairs overcome, and unconscious risks taken; maturity formed through so many desires, hopes, regrets, forgotten things, loves.  A person’s age represents a fine cargo of experiences and memories.  ~Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

Youth is a disease from which we all recover.  ~Dorothy Fulheim

#3 Death: While I’m not looking forward to death like I’m looking forward to growing old, I’m quite okay with death n dying (I’m not really afraid of dying as many are). I accept it as a part of the natural process of life on this planet. In fact death is what makes life worth living & exhilarating. I don’t understand people who want to live forever. The ultimate mystery of death makes life thrilling. Life is exciting because we have finite time here. I believe in rebirth/reincarnation, so I don’t view death as an end but only a transition/transformation.

#4 Karwa Chauth: is an annual ritual where married women Fast (don’t eat food one whole day) for the long life of their Husbands. It is celebrated with gusto n pride in North India. In my not so humble opinion nothing could be more stupid. There are two reasons for my assertion. Number one the concept itself is illogical. There is no cause n effect relationship here. How could one person not eating prolong the life of another?? If women truly believe that fasting one day in a year can increase lives of husbands then probably they should fast for a week or so to make their husbands live forever!!!

Second & more important reason is that this ritual subjugates & demeans women’s status in the society. Women touch the feet of husbands & eat food late night after seeing the moon n touching husband’s feet!!! For all this they get a gift from the hubby!!! Some women claim that now this is an egalitarian festival ‘cos some hubbies fast for their wives too, but I guess that’s doubly stupid ‘cos two stupid things done together don’t make it a right thing.

The whole thing is stupid, ridiculous, shocking & demeaning for women. But they seem very smug n happy about it. A well adjusted slave is the greatest enemy if freedom.

 

November 17, 2010. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , . Happiness, Hmm..., I-Me-Myself, Meaning of Life, MEMEME, My lifestyle, My Values, Personal, Quotations, Simplicity, Uncategorized, Wisdom.

6 Comments

  1. suny replied:

    Very nice views. Sharp like knife’s edge and Cristal clear like white diamonds. Stay like that, suits you.

    • ritusthoughtcatcher replied:

      Thanks a lot Suny…glad that you find my views worthy of being called nice :-)…I guess I’ll stay the same or get spunkier.

  2. CBC replied:

    Dear Ritu, Excellent practical thought process you posses. I observe woman run their life through impractical and highly charged emotions but your emotions are logical, makes sense and 100% practical.

    It is very hard to make sense out of illogical things like Karva Chauth. Karva Chauth is best described as an emotional game innovated by society. Woman needs an occassion to dress and show their sari/jewellery and man needs to satisfy his male ego. Karva Chauth culminates both emotions in a highly successful package !!

    Frankly speaking, if you tell someone to figure out your age after looking at your photo, the best guess estimate will be 22-25 yrs old. Only after you reveal your true age, only then someone will know the reality.

    Your thought process is akin to a 35 year old woman but looks wise you are in your early 20s and this is an achievement through discipline (diet), creams $ lotions :), inner peace (buddhism and CBC)and of course love(husband) 🙂

    It is always interesting to read your blog because its different and right bang on the target.

    • ritusthoughtcatcher replied:

      Thanks CBC/Akhil & you are bang on target about Karwa Chuth..it’s the need to flaunt on woman’s part + need to satisfy male ego (whatever that means) on man’s part + their mutual stupidity n irrationality n what not that makes them do things like karwa chauth.

      I assure you that perhaps in my pix I might look like 22 but in real life I look my 35 years, perhaps even beyond. 😀 & I guess I think like an 80 year old!!!

      I’m glad that you like my blog n have taken time to read it in detail…look forward to see here more n more…keep coming 🙂

  3. Zen & the Art of Being A Happy Home-Maker « Ritu’s Weblog replied:

    […] My Thoughts | FAQs | Still More […]

  4. Ritu’s Weblog replied:

    […] Me | My Thoughts | FAQs | Still More | My Personal Swot […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

