Forrest Gump: Must Watch Movie #8

Forrest Gump (film)

Image via Wikipedia

At the outset I admit that I didn’t like the movie too much. I mean I didn’t hate it but I didn’t love it either (Not as much as I loved Groundhog Day, The Bucket List & What about Bob at any rate). Still I feel it’s a must watch movie because it explores the theme of destiny at length via Lt. Dan, mama &  Forrest’s own synthesis. + I liked mama’s wisdom n found Forrest’s simplicity  endearing.

Forrest Gump (Tom Hanks) is a simpleton with an IQ of 75. Nonetheless he’s not lacking in other talents.  He is very good at sports (Running, Football, ping pong). He goes on to become a gazillionaire running a successful shrimp company.

He’s also very endearing in his simplicity.

(Bubba: My given name is Benjamin Buford Blue, but people call me Bubba. Forrest Gump: My name’s Forrest Gump. People call me Forrest Gump.

Forrest Gump: I’m not a smart man. But I know what love is.

Forrest Gump: Lieutenant Dan got me invested in some kind of fruit company (Actually Apple Computers). So then I got a call from him, saying we don’t have to worry about money no more. And I said, that’s good! One less thing.

Forrest Gump: The best thing about visiting the President is the food! Now, since it was all free, and I wasn’t hungry but thirsty, I must’ve drank me fifteen Dr. Peppers.

Jenny : Do you ever dream, Forrest, about who you’re gonna be? Forrest Gump: Who I’m gonna be? Aren’t I going to be me?

Lieutenant Dan: Have you found Jesus yet, Gump?Forrest Gump: I didn’t know I was supposed to be looking for him, sir. )

I loved mama’s wisdom:

Forrest Gump: Mama always said life was like a box a chocolates, you never know what you’re gonna get.

Forrest Gump: Mama always said, dying was a part of life.

Forrest Gump: My Mama always said you’ve got to put the past behind you before you can move on.

The theme of destiny in Forrest Gump

Lt. Dan says, “We all have a destiny. Nothing just happens. We all have a plan.” This means that every person is set to a particular plan for life when he is born. Each person is locked in to how they will live life and how they will die. Lt. Dan believes he was cheated out of his destiny. He should have died in the war just like his father and grandfathers before him, but Forrest cheated him out of dying by saving his life in the Vietnam war. Life after that was very meaningless and non-fulfilling until later in the movie when he changes his views. Lt. Dan’s theory of destiny is the people are given a plan in life when they are born into the world.

Forrest’s mama had always told him that it’s in his own hands to make his destiny. Forrest wonders towards the end “I don’t know if we each have a destiny, or if we’re all just floatin’ around accidental-like on a breeze. But I, I think maybe it’s both.”

October 14, 2010. Tags: , , . English Movies, Movies, Must Watch Movies, Reflections/Musings, Wisdom.

14 Comments

  1. Dhobi Ghat « Ritu’s Weblog replied:

    […] Forrest Gump […]

  2. 7 Khoon Maaf « Ritu’s Weblog replied:

    […] Forrest Gump […]

  3. Tanu Weds Manu « Ritu’s Weblog replied:

    […] About Bob  Forrest Gump  Bheja Fry  Ground Hog […]

  4. The King’s Speech « Ritu’s Weblog replied:

    […] About Bob Forrest Gump Bheja Fry Ground Hog […]

  5. Guzaarish « Ritu’s Weblog replied:

    […] About Bob Forrest Gump Bheja Fry Ground Hog […]

  6. Babel « Ritu’s Weblog replied:

    […] About Bob Forrest Gump Bheja Fry Ground Hog […]

  7. Roman Holiday « Ritu’s Weblog replied:

    […] About Bob Forrest Gump Bheja Fry Ground Hog […]

  8. Mirch « Ritu’s Weblog replied:

    […] About Bob Forrest Gump Bheja Fry Ground Hog […]

  9. Bruce Almighty: Must Watch Movie #10 « Ritu’s Weblog replied:

    […] About Bob Forrest Gump Bheja Fry Ground Hog […]

  10. The Fountainhead « Ritu’s Weblog replied:

    […] About Bob Forrest Gump Bheja Fry Ground Hog […]

  11. Up-An Animated Movie from Pixar « Ritu’s Weblog replied:

    […] Almighty | What About Bob | Forrest Gump | Bheja […]

  12. Turning 30!!! « Ritu’s Weblog replied:

    […] Almighty | What About Bob | Forrest Gump | Bheja […]

  13. Game: Movie Review « Ritu’s Weblog replied:

    […] Almighty | What About Bob | Forrest Gump | Bheja […]

  14. Thank You: Movie Review « Ritu’s Weblog replied:

    […] Almighty | What About Bob | Forrest Gump | Bheja […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

