Life in Assam with special reference to life in Jorhat with superspecial reference to my life here

Living in the north east (Jorhat, Assam, India) is turning out to be a very different experience for me from living in Indore n Delhi. Life in the north east is dramatically different from the life I’ve had so far. Every experience is so new over here.

~ Sun rises very early here. At 5 in the morning there is broad day light. I feel fresh n energetic at 5, while in Delhi I had to struggle to get out of bed even at 9. Here I am out for a walk by 5.30.  The air is so fresh n pure, the weather so great that walks are indeed a pleasure rather than a boring task to be done. On my walking trail there are plenty of lush green trees, beautiful flowers n a variety of birds. The chirp of birds has a very soothing effect on one’s nerves.

From life in jorhat
From life in jorhat
From life in jorhat
From life in jorhat

~ Because the day begins so early I find that I’ve plenty of time to pack a lot within the day. + there are many learning opportunities in Jorhat, particularly within the AF station where we stay. For one I’ve started learning sewing which is turning out to be a great adventure n great fun. This is one thing I never thought I could ever learn or for that matter something I could ever be interested in learning. But here I found an excellent teacher who is all praises for my beginner learning skills n who got me stitching a dress in the second day of my class. Just waiting for the day when I master it n make a new dress in a jiffy for every party I attend !!! Also in the pipeline are classes for learning:

~Car Driving ~Salsa ~Painting ~Knitting ~Origami ~Candle Making ~Tatting & ~Yoga

I guess I’ll be one hell of a talented lady when I go back from Assam.

~A wide variety of pure, fresh, organically grown vegetables n fruits are available here at regular prices. These come to the market from small gardens in the houses. In fact I’ve not seen any natives’ home here without a small garden. N some even have ponds where they breed fresh water fish n some houses have their own miniature tea gardens!!!

From life in jorhat
From life in jorhat
From life in jorhat

~People in Assam are very friendly, always smiling, laid back n ever ready to help n with a very lovely accent to their hindi….it’s a sheer pleasure interacting with them. People are fond of music n dancing n a laid back lifestyle, very different from people always running about in the rat race elsewhere.

~Weather here is damn awesome. When most of rest of India is boiling at 40 degrees we are enjoying temperatures between 17-24 degrees with frequent showers.

~The things I do miss here are : ~ No FM Radio ~ Lack of movie theatres ~ Newspapers: Somehow I’ve found North east editions of all newspapers utterly unreadable n boring.

~But the lack of above is more than made up by lots of awesome places to visit nearby…a report about those places follows. 🙂

April 5, 2010. Tags: , , , , , , . Assam, I-Me-Myself, Jorhat, MEMEME, My lifestyle, Personal, Reflections/Musings.

26 Comments

  1. Sehar replied:

    Lovely writeup wd beautiful pics ..Hope u had a nice time Ritu

    Cheers !!!

  2. ritusthoughtcatcher replied:

    Thanks a lot Ria for taking time to visit my blog n read my post. 🙂 I’m glad you liked it

  3. sammi replied:

    Exlnt after reading ure writeup i am waiting to vist u people as early as possable.pls snd ur cntct no

    • ritusthoughtcatcher replied:

      Hey Sammi thank you so much for the comment. Glad you liked it. Come here fast….we are waiting for you n didi n jijaji in Assam. 🙂

  4. ghanshyam pareek replied:

    gr8 write up….wid lovely pics…..nice experience…….3rd pic is very nice

    • ritusthoughtcatcher replied:

      Glad you liked it Ghanshyam n thanks for the comment…I’m trying to share my life in Assam to give an idea to folks back in Indore n Delhi about the life in North east 🙂

  5. rahul replied:

    nice mem nice

    • ritusthoughtcatcher replied:

      Thankyou so much Rahul…nice to see you here 🙂

  6. Dr Bhatta replied:

    Ritu
    Even though I stayed in Jorhat for 2 years, I could not explore as many things as you could in two months. Great enjoy life in Jorhat.
    Love
    Bhattas

    • ritusthoughtcatcher replied:

      It’s been 2 weeks actually….I guess it’s wives’ privilege to explore more n more while the husband slogs in office…thanks for your kind words n regards. 🙂

  7. SHARBAT jAIN replied:

    nice to learn that you have reached very close to tne nature.In other words near to the GOD.Keep enjoying

    Hallo to Rao shaib

    • ritusthoughtcatcher replied:

      Nice to see you here…n thanks for your comment Badepapa 🙂

    • ritusthoughtcatcher replied:

      Nice to see you here…n thanks for your comment Badepapa :-)…

  8. hemant lahane replied:

    I find you have learned to enjoy the life. I am sure your stint at Jorhat will prove to be a most memorable one. I would like you to immediately buy maps for the whole of north-east so that you may proceed to hitchhikink anytime, of course, when you are free from your responsibilites as wife and as the leader of ladies at the station.

    • ritusthoughtcatcher replied:

      Nice to see you here…n thanks for your comment Uncle :-)…yup having loads of fun traveling. Regards

  9. sunita jatav replied:

    mam realy aaj bahut din bad aapse baat ho rahi lekin kafi aacha lag raha hai

    • ritusthoughtcatcher replied:

      thanks for visiting my blog n your comment…same here Sunita 🙂

  10. supriya bansal replied:

    helo mam so..seeing u being so happy is a gr8 job as u always remain jovial & adventorous would lyk 2 suggest u bout to strt writing novels i will be the firts reader bye tc.. enjoy lyf 2 the fullest

    • ritusthoughtcatcher replied:

      thanks a lot supriya for your comment…you made me smile :—-)

  11. dilip replied:

    Dear,

    I am from Jorhat, working in Delhi. Being here, I miss my native place and keep longing for my life back there…Enjoy your stay!

    • ritusthoughtcatcher replied:

      Hi Dilip,

      Thanks for your comment on my blog…I’m just loving Assam…the weather, the lifestyle n the people. I’m coming here from Delhi n kinda miss it…hope you are enjoying Delhi :-)…hope you found my description of Assam accurate.

  12. hanumant replied:

    Great to know about lifestyle in Assam. Nice write up too. I could almost smell the morning air and hear the bird!!

    Will try to visit NE sometime.

  13. prabhu replied:

    oh.. you missed about the attitude of work of locals here…

    • ritusthoughtcatcher replied:

      Ahem Prabhu…I thought I said they are cheerful n laid back…however this was my impression within a week of landing here…I’ll come up with an updated version soon

  14. sanjiv bokil replied:

    The national talk of working lahe lahe and ‘work attitude of locals’ is a silly myth. We were in Guwahati for some years, now in Mumbai. Recently our tatasky connection stopped working, and Guwahati tatasky staff helped us while Mumbai staff was quite unresponsive. We rarely locked doors of our home there-workers came, finished promised work and left. The first experience of Mumbai was theft of shoes left outside the apartment door! We should avoid generalisations.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

