Buddhism in Bite Size Lessons: Lesson #4

The Four Noble Truths

The Four Noble Truths are the cornerstone of Buddhism. They are the essence of Buddha’s teachings

1. First Noble Truth=Life is suffering. (dukkha)

2. Second Noble Truth=The cause of suffering is craving n attachment.(samudaya)

3. Third Noble Truth= The cessation of suffering is possible. (nirodha)

4. Fourth Noble Truth=The path to the cessation of suffering is the Noble Eightfold path prescribed by Buddha. (Magga)

Buddha is often regarded a pessimist because he said ‘Life is suffering’, but nothing could be further from truth for:

 1. This fact is validated when we examine life n all its experiences closely..birth itself is painful n thus a suffering…then there are suffering of illness, old age n death…there is suffering of not getting what we want & suffering of getting what we do not want..what gives us pleasure also ultimately results in suffering when it is ultimately lost due to the transient nature of reality 


2. Buddha has not left the matters here but prescribed a path to overcome this suffering. To realize n accept this fact is the first step in overcoming it..we won’t cease to suffer if we just deny this reality but if we embrace it there is a path to transcend it.~Ritu Khabia


March 2, 2010. Tags: , , , , , . Buddha, Buddhism, Inspiration, Reflections/Musings, Wisdom.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Trackback URI

%d bloggers like this: