My Kind of Poetry :-)

1. Too Lazy to be Ambitious

Too lazy to be ambitious,

I let the world take care of itself.

Ten days’ worth of rice in my bag;

a bundle of twigs by the fireplace.

Listening to the night rain on my roof,

I sit comfortably, with both legs stretched out.

~Ryokan

2. You do not need too many things

My house is buried in the deepest recess of the forest

Every year, ivy vines grow longer than the year before.

Undisturbed by the affairs of the world I live at ease,

Woodmen’s singing rarely reaching me through the trees.

While the sun stays in the sky, I mend my torn clothes

And facing the moon, I read holy texts aloud to myself.

Let me drop a word of advice for believers of my faith.

To enjoy life’s immensity, you do not need many things.

~Ryokan

July 26, 2009. Tags: , . Buddhism.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

