White Tiger

Finished reading The White Tiger by Arvind Adiga & surprisingly found it engrossing…I mean this is the first novel I’ve enjoyed without actually identifying with the protagonist (Generally I enjoy love stories (not of the mills n boons kind) or legal thrillers cos I can understand whats going on there)…This is the story of Balram Halwai’s journey from driver to entrepreneur. He makes his bid for freedom by killing his ‘master’ (employer)…what makes the book interesting is the workings of the mind of Balram (I always enjoy books which dwell on the inner thought processes of the protagonist n I have a fondness of books written in first person) & he makes pretty astute observations on the nuances of ‘master servant’ relationship n the life of a servant in general. I could not decide whether I liked Balram or hated him for killing his employer n putting the lives of his entire family at stake for gaining freedom from his destiny as a driver.  I would give it 3.5 stars out of 5.

March 4, 2009. Tags: , . Books, Reading.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

