Reading Project/Challenge #1 for 2009

Emily Brontë’s Wuthering Heights, recounting the doomed affair between sweet Cathy Earnshaw and the brutal outsider Heathcliff has  topped the poll of the greatest love stories of all the times…..what a coincidence that I started this years with reading Wuthering Heights online at http://etext.virginia.edu/toc/modeng/public/BroWuth.html

oblivious of this fact. I had read the book one during my school days when I was on a staple diet of classics & devouring a couple of them each week, but I don’t think I appreciated the true nuances of the doomed love then, though I remember liking it even then. This year I’ve made it a point to read more regularly n systematically ( Somehow in all the busyness its on rare occasions that I’ve found myself lost in a book as I used to do earlier often hiding in obscure corners n skipping meals n homework to finish a book….ah those were the days. I guess this year I’ll set up some reading projects/ challenges for myself & begin it with reading all of the 20 Top Romances in the poll results. (Oh wait I’ll have to make an exception with The Great Gatsby, which I’ve read n absolutely hated…I don’t think I can survive reading it again…the entire time I was reading the book I just kept wondering what’s about it that people love?? To me it was totally unremarkable & not the stuff great romances are made of). Anyways here’s the list:

 

The top 20

1 Wuthering Heights Emily Brontë, 1847

2 Pride and Prejudice Jane Austen, 1813

3 Romeo and Juliet William Shakespeare, 1597

4 Jane Eyre Charlotte Brontë, 1847

5 Gone with the Wind Margaret Mitchell, 1936

6 The English Patient Michael Ondaatje, 1992

7 Rebecca Daphne du Maurier, 1938

8 Doctor Zhivago Boris Pasternak, 1957

9 Lady Chatterley’s Lover DH Lawrence, 1928

10 Far from The Madding Crowd Thomas Hardy, 1874

11 = My Fair Lady Alan Jay Lerner, 1956

The African Queen CS Forester, 1935

13 The Great Gatsby F Scott Fitzgerald, 1925

14 Sense and Sensibility Jane Austen, 1811

15 = The Way We Were Arthur Laurents, 1972

War and Peace Leo Tolstoy, 1865

17 Frenchman’s Creek Daphne du Maurier, 1942

18 Persuasion Jane Austen, 1818

19 Take a Girl Like You Kingsley Amis, 1960

20 Daniel Deronda George Eliot, 1876

 

January 16, 2009. Tags: , , , , , , , . Books, I-Me-Myself, Lists, MEMEME, Personal, Reading, Reading Lists, Reflections/Musings.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

